The Serbian Orthodox Church

The Serbian Orthodox Church is an autocephalous, or ecclesiastically independent, member of the Orthodox communion, located primarily in Serbia, Montenegro, Bosnia and Herzegovina and Croatia. Since many Serbs have emigrated to foreign countries, now there are now many Serbian Orthodox communities on all continents.

The Serbian Orthodox Church of today has: 32 dioceses, 3578 parishes, 204 monasteries, 1900 parish priests, some 230 monks and 1000 nuns, five Seminaries (in Beograd, Sremski Karlovci, Prizren, Srbinje [Serbinye] and Cetinje), two Theological Faculties (in Beograd and Libertyville, USA), and the Theological Institute in Beograd.

The supreme authority of the Serbian Church, the Holy Synod, is composed of all its bishops, who meet once a year in May. There is also a standing Synod of four members who administer the day-to-day affairs of the church, which is estimated to number some nine million faithful.


    * Orthodox Christians believe in the Triune God-the Father, the Son and the Holy
    * The Nicene-Constantinopolitan Creed summarizes and expresses fundamental
      Orthodox beliefs.
    * Iconography is part of Orthodoxy.
    * Prayer, fasting and almsgiving are elements of Orthodox life.
    * The Holy Sacraments-Baptism, Chrismation, Confession, Communion, Marriage,
      Holy Orders and Holy Unction-are fundamental to Orthodox life.
    * The Holy Scriptures have an integral place in Orthodoxy.
    * Apostolic Succession gives expression to the continuity of Orthodox Christianity.
    * Repentance is a recurring principle of Orthodoxy.
    * The lives of the saints instruct, inspire and are celebrated as fundamental to
      Orthodox life.
    * Order in the liturgical life of Orthodoxy enables the believer to worship, give glory to

Important information on the Prescribed Fasts of our Holy Orthodox Church